Airborne Museum - Normandy Discovery Tours
Airborne Museum

In the heart of Sainte-Mère-Eglise, in front of the famous bell tower on which the mannequin representing John Steele is hung, the Airborne Museum will make you live and understand the events of the D-Day through the American parachutists, from the preparation in England to the liberation and the impact on the civilian population

Waco Building

Discover the only example in France of a Waco glider. More than 500 gliders were used to transport nearly 4400 glider soldiers, hundreds of jeeps, and tons of equipment to Normandy on D-Day and the days that followed. A rich collection of moving objects also allows you to discover the history of the Normandy landings.

C-47 Building

The C-47 building is dedicated to the preparation of D-Day and to the events preceding the Normandy Landing. It presents an authentic C-47 aircraft that took part in the operations of the Normandy Landings and the Second World War. It allows, in an immersive way and through numerous objects of collections, to discover the birth of the American paratroopers, the history of the first airborne operations, the role of the pathfinders, the operation Fortitude, or the history of the C-47 planes…

Nota Bene: This building, currently undergoing restoration, is not open to the public. Opening planned for the end of July 2021.

Neptune Operation Building

Immersion, sensation and emotion will be the order of the day during your discovery of the Operation Neptune building. In the middle of the night, you will board a real C-47 plane in England alongside paratroopers of the 82nd Airborne Division, and plunge into the heart of the battle of Sainte-Mère-Église and the terrible fighting that followed in the middle of the marshes and hedgerows.

The Histopad

A Histopad tablet is given to you at the entrance of the museum, transporting you to 1944 throughout your discovery of the Airborne Museum. Dive into the heart of June 1944, relive immersive scenes: the Waco glider, the battle of La Fière or the Colombières hospital come to life before your eyes.

End your visit with the Ronald Reagan Conference Center, which houses a temporary exhibition and a moving 20-minute documentary on the American paratroopers.

Good deal!

Here at Normandy Discovery Tours, we are committed to making your discovery of the D-Day and Battle of Normandy museums a priority, that is why we have built a partnership with the Airborne Museum. To offer you the best possible hospitality, we propose you to visit this museum at a reduced rate if you book one of our private guided tours (van 9 seats).

For more information, contact us.

But that’s not the end of the story! Book your jeep rental with Jeep Adventure, and visit the D-Day Experience for free!

 

 

You want to visit the Airborne Museum ?

Check their website !

Airborne Museum - Normandy Discovery Tours
Airborne Museum

Au cœur de Sainte-Mère-Eglise, face au célèbre clocher sur lequel le mannequin représentant John Steele est accroché, l’Airborne Museum vous fera vivre et comprendre les événements du Jour-J au travers des parachutistes américains, depuis la préparation en Angleterre jusqu’à la libération et l’impact sur les populations civiles.

Bâtiment Waco

Découvrez l’unique exemplaire en France d’un planeur Waco. Plus de 500 planeurs ont été utilisés à l’acheminement de près de 4400 soldats gliders, des centaines de jeep, et des tonnes de matériels sur le sol Normand, le Jour-J et les jours qui suivirent. Une riche collection d’objets émouvants vous permettent également de découvrir l’Histoire du Débarquement en Normandie.

Bâtiment C-47

Le bâtiment C-47 est consacré à la préparation du Jour-J et aux évènements antérieurs au Débarquement en Normandie. Il présente un authentique avion C-47 ayant participé aux opérations du Débarquement en Normandie et de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale. Il permet, de façon immersive et au fil de nombreux objets de collections, de découvrir la naissance des parachutistes américains, l’histoire des premières opérations aéroportées, le rôle des pathfinders, l’opération Fortitude, ou encore l’histoire des avions C-47 …

Nota Bene : Ce bâtiment, actuellement en pleine restauration, n’est pas accessible à la visite. Ouverture prévue fin juillet 2021.

Bâtiment Opération Neptune

Immersion, sensation et émotion seront au rendez-vous lors de votre découverte du bâtiment Opération Neptune. En pleine nuit, vous embarquez dans un véritable avion C-47 en Angleterre aux côtés des parachutistes de la 82ème Division aéroportée, plongez au cœur de la bataille de Sainte- Mère-Église et des terribles combats qui suivirent au milieu des marais et des haies.

L’Histopad

Une tablette Histopad vous est remise à l’entrée du musée, vous transportant en 1944 tout au long de votre découverte du Musée Airborne. Plongez au coeur de juin 1944, revivez des scènes immersives : le planeur Waco, la bataille de la Fière ou encore l’hôpital de la Colombières prennent vie sous vos yeux.

Terminez votre visite par le Centre de Conférence Ronald Reagan, abritant une exposition temporaire, et un émouvant documentaire d’une vingtaine de minutes sur les parachutistes américains.

Bon plan !

Chez Normandy Discovery Tours, nous nous engageons à faire de votre découverte des musées du débarquement et de la bataille de Normandie une priorité, c’est pourquoi nous sommes partenaires du Airborne Museum. Pour vous offrir le meilleur accueil possible, nous vous proposons de visiter ce musée à un tarif réduit si vous réservez l’une de nos visites guidées privées (van 9 places).

Mais ce n’est pas tout ! Réservez votre location de jeep avec Jeep Adventure, et visitez gratuitement le Airborne Museum !

Pour plus d’informations, contactez-nous.

 

 

Vous voulez visiter le Airborne Museum ?

Pour plus d’informations, Visitez le site internet.