D-Day Tour - Full Day - Normandy Discovery Tours
D-Day Tour – Full Day


The D-Day Experience

June 6 1944 is a significant date in the history of Normandy, but also in the history of the whole world. It is at 6:30 am that the most important military operation in the history of mankind begins; this is the D-Day landing on the beaches of Normandy. A few hours before the landing barges arrive on the Normandy beaches, more than 13,000 American and 7,000 British paratroopers will be dropped inland on the various drop zones. They will be the first to touch down on Normandy on D-Day, followed by an additional 135,000 soldiers on the single day of June 6.

Sainte-Mère-Eglise, Utah Beach, Pointe-du-Hoc, Omaha Beach, the American Cemetery of Colleville-sur-Mer… so many must-see places, located on the American landing sector, where we will pass in order to be immersed in the largest military operation of all time; Operation Overlord.

 

Our team of dedicated local guides will accompany you on a unique sensory experience, filled with moving discoveries, human anecdotes and short stories that have made up the great story.

Informations :

Departure & Arrival : Carentan Station / Bayeux Station
Visit Schedule : 8:30 am – 6:00 pm
Number of persons : From 1 to 8 people max.
Vehicle : 9-seater vehicle
Language : French or English
Museums : A visit to a museum can be added to your discovery day. Discover our partner museums, here

RATES :

460€ per day (Up to 4 people)
+ 30 € /Pers. (From 5 to 8 people)

 

 

 

 

Program of the visit :

SAINTE-MÈRE-EGLISE :

Emblematic village of June 6, 1944, Sainte Mère Eglise is a small village that has kept its charm of yesteryear. Located in the middle of the American parachutists’ drop zones, many paratroopers have landed around the bell tower, not to say on the steeple…. The small Norman town is located on the Cherbourg-Caen highway (NR13), which will quickly become a strategic objective to be secured on the morning of D-Day. Put into the spotlight in 1962 with the film “The Longest Day”, it was on the mythical church square that the famous scenes of the film were shot. Moreover, what is the name of this famous soldier of the 82nd Airborne Division who remained hung on the church steeple ? Come and discover its history as well as that of all these men who came to bring freedom to this small village in Normandy.
To know : Possibility to visit the Sainte-Mère-Eglise Museum; Airborne Museum.

UTAH BEACH :

Utah-Beach, has remained intact since 1944, is a place steeped in history. Many remains are still visible there, such as the Chapel of La Madeleine. Built in the time of the Vikings, this small place of peace was transformed into a hospital by the US Army in the summer of 1944. You can also discover the anti-tank wall, part of the famous Atlantic wall or the many bunkers that line the sea. Walking on this fine sandy beach will take you back in time, because it was here that it all began on a Tuesday in the spring of 1944.
To know : Possibility to visit the Utah Beach Museum.

CARENTAN :

Located in the heart of the Regional Park of the Cotentin Swamps, Carentan was the first city of Manche to be liberated by American troops on June 12, 1944. The city helded very firmly by the German soldiers, it took many days for the men of the 101st Airborne Division to finally give it back its freedom. During the visit, we will follow the path that American soldiers took in 1944, passing through the famous “Dead’s Man Corner” and the République square, where many ceremonies take place since 1944. Featured in the mini-series “Band of Brother”, the city of arches now has very strong links with the United States. We will present you the feats of arms that took place there, including one that was awarded the “Medal of Honnor”, the highest distinction of the American army.
To know : Possibility to visit museums: D-Day Experience or Normandy Victory Museum

GRANDCAMP-MAISY – LUNCH BREAK :

After a first part of an intense emotional visit, we suggest you have a break. What better way to take a lunch break than with a beautiful sea view?! We suggest you stop in the village of Grandcamp-Maisy. A small fishing port with a typical Norman look, you can have lunch there with a varied choice of restaurants, brasseries and bakeries at your disposal.
Once this short break is over, we will resume the adventure of discovering Calvados!
To know: Not only the Calavados drink served by the restaurant’s owner, but also the Calvados department!

 

LA POINTE DU HOC : 

Located halfway between Utah-Beach and Omaha-Beach, Pointe du Hoc offers a 180 degree view of the sea from its summit. A real strategic point on the Atlantic Wall, the German army had installed an artillery battery, which was a major obstacle to be eliminated for the allies as soon as they arrived on Norman soil. This 30-metre high cliff was the mission of 225 men who had been hard trained not to fail in this mission. The Pointe du Hoc site is one of the only places to have been preserved as it is since 1944. Fortunately, the calm and vegetation have returned to normal, but you can observe the stigmas of the intensive bombardments that preceded the D-Day landing.

OMAHA BEACH :

“Bloody Omaha” is the nickname given to this beach after the landing. Omaha’s story is probably one of the most famous of the Second World War, because it was here, on this fine sandy beach, that everything began on June 6, 1944, it all began, but for many it was the harsh law of war, it was here that everything ended. More than a visit, walking on Omaha-Beach is a tribute, a recognition in verse to these thousands of young Americans, who have known the ultimate sacrifice, to give the freedom to Europe.
To know : Possibility to visit the Overlord Museum.

AMERICAN CEMETERY OF COLLEVILLE-SUR-MER :

How to describe this place ? The American Cemetery of Colleville-sur-Mer cannot be described. Symbol of what could be called the price of freedom, it is a place of homage and respect. As a guide, we have been through it many times and yet, at each entrance, the same emotion invades us! Through your visit to Normandy, you will do more than discover history, you will participate in your duty to remember.

To know :

  • Visitors can be picked up outside the proposed locations (Carentan/Bayeux), on which case you will be asked to pay an extra 50 € (round trip).
  • A visit to a museum can be added to your discovery day (Utah Beach Museum, Airborne Museum, D-Day Experience, Overlord Museum…). Museum admissions are not included in our price proposal (preferential rate in the presence of the guide).
  • Lunch are not included.

D-Day Tour - Journée - Normandy Discovery Tours
D-Day Tour – Journée

L'expérience du Jour-J

 

Le 6 Juin 1944 est une date marquante dans l’Histoire de la Normandie, mais également dans l’Histoire du Monde entier. C’est à 6h30 du matin que débute la plus importante opération militaire de l’histoire de l’humanité ; le Débarquement sur les plages de Normandie. Quelques heures avant l’arrivée des barges de débarquement sur les plages normandes, plus de 13 000 parachutistes américains et 7000 parachutistes britanniques seront largués à l’intérieur des terres sur les déférentes zones de largages. Ils seront les premiers à toucher le sol normand le Jour-J, suivis pour l’unique journée du 6 juin par 135 000 soldats supplémentaires.

Sainte-Mère-Eglise, Utah Beach, Pointe-du-Hoc, Omaha Beach, le cimetière américain de Colleville-sur-Mer…. autant de lieux incontournables, situés sur le secteur du débarquement américain, où nous passerons pour être immergés dans la plus grande opération militaire de tous les temps ; Opération Overlord.

 

Notre équipe de guides locaux passionnés par l’histoire de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale vous accompagne pour une expérience sensorielle unique, remplie de découvertes émouvantes, d’anecdotes humaines et de petites histoires qui ont fait la grande Histoire. 

 

Informations :

Départ & Arrivée : Gare de Carentan / Gare de Bayeux
Horaires de visite : 8h30-18h00
Nombre de personnes : De 1 à 8 personnes max.
Véhicule : Véhicule 9 places
Langue : Français ou Anglais
Musées : La visite d’un musée peut être ajoutée à la journée découverte. Découvrez nos musées partenaires ICI.

TARIFS :

460€ la journée (De 1 à 4 personnes)
+ 30 € /Pers. (De 5 à 8 pers.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

PROGRAMME DE LA VISITE :

SAINTE MÈRE EGLISE :

Village emblématique du 6 Juin 1944, Sainte Mère Eglise est une petite bourgade qui à gardé son charme d’antan. Situé en plein milieu des zones de sauts des parachutistes américains, nombreux sont ceux à avoir atterri atour du clocher, pour ne pas dire sur le clocher… La petite ville normande se trouvant sur l’axe Cherbourg-Caen (NR13), celle-ci va vite devenir un objectif stratégique à sécuriser le matin du Jour-J. Mise sous le feu des projecteurs Hollywoodiens en 1962 dans le film « Le Jour le plus long », c’est sur la mythique place de l’église qu’ont été tournées les scènes cultes du film. D’ailleurs, comment se prénomme ce célèbre soldat de la 82ème Airborne Division resté accroché au clocher de l’église ? Venez découvrir son histoire ainsi que celle de tout ces hommes venus rapporter la liberté dans ce petit village de Normandie.
A savoir : Possibilité de visiter le musée de Sainte-Mère-Eglise ; Airborne Museum.

UTAH BEACH :

Restée intact depuis 1944, la plage de Utah-Beach est un lieu hautement chargé d’histoire. De nombreux vestiges y sont encore visibles à l’exemple de la Chapelle de La Madeleine. Construite au temps des Viking, ce petit lieu de paix fût transformé en hôpital par l’US Army au cours de l’été 1944. Vous pourrez également découvrir le mur anti-char, élément du célèbre mur de l’atlantique ou encore les nombreux blockhaus qui bordent la mer. Marcher sur cette plage de sable fin, vous fera faire un retour dans le passé, car c’est ici que tout a commencé, un mardi du printemps 1944.
A savoir : Possibilité de visiter le Musée de Utah Beach.

CARENTAN :

Situé au Cœur du Parc Régional des Marais du Cotentin, Carentan fût la première Ville libérée par les troupes américaines le 12 Juin 1944. La ville tenue très fermement par les soldat allemands, il aura fallu de nombreux jours aux hommes de la 101ème Airborne Division pour enfin lui rendre sa liberté. Lors de la visite, nous emprunterons le chemin que les soldats américains ont emprunté en 1944, en passant par le très célèbre « Carrefour de l’homme mort » ou « Dead’s Man Corner » et la Place de République, lieu de nombreuses cérémonies. Mise à l’honneur dans la mini-série « Band of Brother », la ville aux arcades tiens aujourd’hui des liens très fort avec les Etats-Unis. Nous vous y présenterons les hauts faits d’armes qui s’y sont déroulés, dont un récompensé par la « Medal of Honnor », la plus haute distinction de l’armée américaines.
A savoir : Possibilité de visiter les musées : D-Day Experience ou Normandy Victory Museum

GRANDCAMP-MAISY – PAUSE DÉJEUNER :

Après une première partie de visite intense en émotion, nous vous proposons de faire une pause. Quoi de mieux qu’une belle vue mer pour faire une pause déjeuner ?! Nous vous proposons de vous arrêter dans le village de Grandcamp-Maisy. Petit port de pêche à l’allure typiquement normande, vous pourrez y déjeuner avec à votre disposition un choix varié de restaurants, brasseries et boulangeries.
Une fois cette petite pause faîte, nous reprendrons l’aventure à la découverte du Calvados !
A savoir : Pas que le Calavados que vous aura servi le patron du restaurant, mais également le département du Calvados !

 

LA POINTE DU HOC :

Située à mi-distance entre Utah Beach et Omaha Beach, la Pointe-du-Hoc offre depuis son sommet une vue à 180 degré sur la mer. Véritable point stratégique sur le mur de l’Atlantique, l’armée allemande y installera une batterie d’artillerie, qui deviendra un obstacle à éliminer pour les alliés et ce dès leur arrivée sur le sol normand. Cette falaise de 30 mètres de haut, fût la mission de 225 hommes durement entraînés pour ne pas faillir à cette mission. Le site de la Pointe-du-Hoc est l’un des seuls lieux à avoir été conservés tel quel depuis 1944. Heureusement le calme ainsi que la végétation ont repris leur court, mais vous pourrez y observer les stigmates des bombardements intensifs qui ont précédé le Débarquement.

OMAHA BEACH :

« Omaha la sanglante », c’est le surnom que fût donné à cette plage à la suite du Débarquement. Longue de 8 kilomètres, l’histoire de Omaha-Beach est probablement l’une des plus connues de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, car c’est ici, sur cette plage de sable fin, que tout commença le 6 juin 1944, tout commença, mais par la dure loi de guerre, pour beaucoup, c’est ici que tout se termina. Plus qu’une visite, marcher sur Omaha-Beach est un hommage, une reconnaissance en vers ces milliers jeunes américains, qui ont connu le sacrifice ultime, pour rendre sa liberté à l’Europe.
A savoir : Possibilité de visiter le Overlord Museum.

CIMETIÈRE AMÉRICAIN DE COLLEVILLE-SUR-MER :

Comment décrire ce lieu ? Le Cimetière Américain de Colleville-sur-Mer ne peut être décrit. Symbole de ce que l’on pourrait appeler le prix de la liberté, il est un lieu d’hommage et de respect. En tant que guide, nous l’avons parcours de nombreuses fois et pourtant, à chaque entrée, la même émotion nous envahit ! Au travers de votre visite en Normandie, vous ferez plus que de découvrir l’histoire, vous participerez à votre devoir de mémoire.

A savoir :

  • La prise en charge des visiteurs peut-être faîte en dehors des lieux proposés (Carentan/ Bayeux), dans ce cas un supplément tarifaire de 50 € (aller/retour) vous sera demandé.
  • La visite d’un musée peut être ajoutée à votre journée découverte. Les entrées des musées ne sont pas inclues dans notre proposition tarifaire (tarif préférentiel en présence du guide).
  • Les repas du midi ne sont pas pris en charge.